;

All Research Guides

International Economics Guide

Subject Librarian

Ophelia Cheung Ophelia Cheung
LIB284A
(416) 979-5097
ocheung@ryerson.ca




Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier provides full text for over 2,000 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for approximately 3,500 journals. Most journals are peer reviewed.

Business Source Elite
Business Source Elite provides full text coverage for more than 1,000 scholarly business, management and economics journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 1,800 journals. Business Source Elite contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including Business Week, Forbes, Harvard Business Review, MIT Sloan Management Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, etc. This database includes detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies.

Conference Board of Canada (e-Library) Resource has Canadian focus
The Conference Board of Canada e-Library provides access to All Conference Board research documents from 1998 and Public Policy research documents. Aproximately 30 reports are produced annually to provide new insights into key areas of economic, management and public policy as well as periodicals on a monthly, quarterly, yearly and biennial basis.

EconLit
Citations and abstracts to articles from over 500 economics journals and articles from books and dissertations. Areas covered include basic economics and economic aspects of history, health, education, policy, and agriculture as well as accounting and monetary policy.

EIU
Provides country, industry, management analysis and forecasts on over 200 countries, nine strategic industries, and a full range of management functions through the following services: ViewsWire, Country Reports and Country Profile.

Scholars Portal Journals
E-Journals @ Scholars Portal provides access to the full text of over 22 million articles from over 8,000+ full text journals published by: Academic Press, American Chemical Society, American Psychological Association, Berkeley Electronic Press, Blackwell Publishing, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier Science and Emerald Publishing.

ScienceDirect journals
The Elsevier ScienceDirect Journals collection consists of over 1700 full text electronic journals covering topics in the physical sciences, applied sciences, life sciences, social sciences, and business and economics. The ScienceDirect platform also hosts and makes accessible other large ejournal collections, reference works, indexes and web search engines. These include: full text ejournals from Academic Press, Elsevier Science, Harcourt Health full text access to International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences, Medline and the science specific web search engine Scirus. Full text access is available for most titles from 1995 to present.

LexisNexis Academic Universe
This service provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. National and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources Canadian federal and provincial case law Canadian legislation U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information Shepards Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789 Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.

National Bureau of Economic Research Papers
NBER researchers initially report their findings in scientific papers aimed at other professional economists in academic institutions, business, government, and the business media around the world. Nearly 500 NBER Working Papers are published each year, and many subsequently appear in scholarly journals.

OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998 - currently (October 2010) 1 000 journal issues, 2 900 working papers, 2 500 multi-lingual summaries, 6 200 e-book titles, 14 000 tables and graphs, 21 000 chapters and articles, and 390 complete databases with more than 4 billion data points.";"Our current subscription consists of OECD Economic Surveys, Main Economic Indicators, OECD Books/Papers/Statistics, OECD Economic Outlook, OECD Industry and Services iLibrary, OECD Development iLibrary, OECD Economic Studies. We do not have access to IEA statistics.

ProQuest Business Collection
The most comprehensive business offering, comprising all content from ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Asian Business & Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. Featuring thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, and working papers as well as trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist. Strong US and international coverage in business and the social sciences.

 

Statistics Canada

Ryerson's print and microfiche collections of Statistics Canada publications are housed on the 5th floor. Statistics Canada's catalogue of publications is available in print, Cat. No. 11-204, and electronically.

Consult the Library web guide for additional resources.

 

 Passport GMID 

 Provides integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, full-text market reports, insightful comment from expert industry and country analysts as well as thousands of sources of further information. Contains demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries. The historic and forecast data enable you analyze trends from 1977-2020. Unique country rankings help you to gauge one country's position in the world relative to another. Passport GMID contains a range of lifestyle indicators such as disposable income availability, consumer expenditure trends, eating and drinking habits, home ownership statistics and health data. Database contains 15,000 market research reports on industries, consumer lifestyles and retailing.

 OECD iLibrary  

 OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998 -  (October 2010) 1 000 journal issues, 2 900 working papers, 2 500 multi-lingual summaries, 6 200 e-book titles, 14 000 tables and graphs, 21 000 chapters and articles, and 390 complete databases with more than 4 billion data points. Our current subscription consists of OECD Economic Surveys, Main Economic Indicators, OECD Books/Papers/Statistics, OECD Economic Outlook, OECD Industry and Services iLibrary, OECD Development iLibrary, OECD Economic Studies. We do not have access to IEA statistics.

International Financial Statistics (IMF eLibrary)

 International Financial Statistics (IFS), produced by the IMF ( International Monetary Fund) , is a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance.The IFS database contains time series data from 1948. IFS statistics include current data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international interest rates, prices, national accounts, and international transactions (including balance of payments and international investment positions). The online IFS database contains:  approximately 32,000 time series covering over 200 countries and areas including all series appearing on the IFS Country Pages exchange rate series for all IMF member countries, plus selected other areas selected aggregates of key variables in IFS World Tables. The information is presented in an easily customized manner, using standard Microsoft Excel spreadsheet formats.



Datastream

Provides daily pricing and volume information on equities from countries all over the world including market, stock and bond indices, and macroeconomic series from central statistical offices such as Statistics Canada, and sources such as International Financial Statistics and selected OECD series. Also includes daily foreign exchange rates, daily and weekly interest rate series, fixed income instruments from many countries and financial and commodity futures and options contracts.



UNdata
UNdata is a wide-ranging subscription database which covers all countries and areas and selected series from more than 30 specialized international data sources. It draws selectively on statistics from throughout the UN system and brings them together using a common platform and interface, and global statistical standards. UNCDB also covers selective statistics from other international sources including FAO, ILO, IMF, ITU, OECD, UNESCO, WHO, WIPO, World Bank and World Tourism Organization, among others.

WRDS
WRDS is a comprehensive Internet-based data management system that allows researchers to easily retrieve information from a wide variety of financial, economic, and marketing data sources. This hosted data service has become the locus for quantitative data research and is recognized by the academic and financial research community around the world as the leading business intelligence tool. Currently, Ryerson University has access to the following: CRSP Stock Database Annual Update CRSP Indices Annual Update

World Bank Data Catalog
The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data, according to the Open Data Terms of Use. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank datasets, including databases, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources.

Most economics books are located in the H - HJ call-number range on the 6th - 7th floor. The Library catalogue includes the titles of books, periodicals and audiovisual materials held by the Library. Search the library catalogue by author, title, subject and keyword. If you do not have a specific author or title of a book and you do not know the Library of Congress subject heading, search the library catalogue by the "keyword" option.


Some subject headings related to Economics include:

Subject Heading

Library of Congress Call Number

Business

HF5000+

Canadian Economic Conditions

HC

Capitalism

HB501

Comparative economics

HB90

Cost effectiveness

HD47.4

Economic development

HD72+

Economic forecasting

HB3730

Economic history

HC

Economic policy

HD87+

Environmental economics

HC79.E5

Finance

HG1+

Macroeconomics

HB172.5

Microeconomics

HB172

 

Ebooks


The Ryerson Library provides access to over 400,000 ebooks which can be read in a browser on your laptop or desktop computer. To find ebooks, you can look for them in the library catalogue by author, title, subject, etc.

Examples:

Search by AUTHOR ( individual or organization)

  • Elsevier Sciencedirect Handbooks
  • National Bureau Of Economic Research

Search by TITLE

  • Handbook of macroeconomics
  • National Bureau Of Economic Research Conference Report

You can limit search results by material type “ebook”.

You can also browse ebooks by the collection from this link http://library.ryerson.ca/eresources/ebooks/

 

Library subscriptions available to Ryerson users

 

eBooks on EBSCOhost

consists of over 6,000 titles on all subjects. You can also Browse eBooks by title  or search by topics e.g. economics and game theory

ebrary

Provides access to over 18,000 titles in a wide variety of subject areas including economics. You can do a simple search on author/title/subject or advanced search combining various terms.

Elsevier/ScienceDirect Textbook Collection

We only have purchased those titles that are published from 2008 to 2013. Content is also enabled for mobility—reading/research material can be downloaded and accessed on most student friendly devices such as iPad, eReader, and iPhone.

MyiLibrary

Hosts a collection of ebooks from Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press ,Taylor & Francis, Springer and Elsevier.

Oxford Reference Online

Comprises more than 120 dictionaries and reference titles covering a comprehensive subject spectrum including: General Reference, Language, Science and Medicine, Humanities and Social Sciences, Business and Professional content.

Scholars Portal Books

Provides access to over 40,000 ebook titles from Springer, Taylor and Francis, Cambridge and Oxford as well as to 100,000 freely available titles from the Internet Archive.

 

Ebooks freely available to all users

Google Book Search -
Search contents of books from Harvard, Stanford, the University of Michigan, the University of Oxford and The New York Public Library as well as content from publishers. Books in the public domain may be viewed in their entirety; books under copyright have access restrictions.

Google Book Search Mobile 1.5 million titles are now available for viewing on iPhones, iPod Touches and Android phones.

Hathi Trust Digital Library is a digital repository for the US’s greatest research libraries. Over 700,000 volumes have been digitized, 15% of which are freely available to the public.

The Internet Archive is a non-profit organization that was founded to build an ‘Internet library,’ with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. It contains over 24,000 books, 21,000 movies and a large number of audio files. The Ryerson Library has contributed to this archive.

The Internet Public Library
Books Collection (formerly known as Online Texts) contains over 20,000 titles that can be browsed by author, by title, or by Dewey Decimal Classification.

Digital Book Index provides links to more than 105,000 title records from more than 1800 commercial and non-commercial publishers, universities, and various private sites. About 66,000 of these books, texts, and documents are available free, while many others are available at very modest cost.

 

 

Ryerson Theses (Research Papers)

Ryerson University Undergrad Research Papers

Canadian Theses (Research Papers)

Theses Canada Portal 

Provides electronic access to the full text of Canadian theses digitized between 1998 and 2002 and provides a record of all other theses in the National Library of Canada's collection (1965-).

Proquest Dissertations and Theses

Proquest Dissertations and Theses provides access to the full-text of over 400,000 Masters and PhD theses from 1997 onwards. In addition, citations are provided for over 1.6 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses from 1,000 North American and European graduate schools from 1861.

The library provides access to periodical directories that can assist you in identifying relevant peer-reviewed / refereed journals for publication. Example:

  • Ulrich’s International Periodicals Directory
    Ulrich’s International Periodicals Directory contains references to 250,000 periodicals, annuals, and irregulars published worldwide. The database also provides contact information for over 80,000 publishers worldwide.

If you need help identifying scholarly/peer-reviewed articles, see this tutorial

Gateways/International  Economics - General

International Statistical Sources: Useful Places to Start on the Web

A Few Interesting Statistical Web Sites

Country Profiles

Government Sources of Information

Academic Sources

Other (includes free & fee-based commercial sources)

Maps

News

Research Papers

Econometrics

Departments, Institutes, Research Centres, Economics Education

International Organizations

© 2020 Ryerson University Library & Archives Research Guides