;

All Research Guides

International Business Guide

Subject Librarian

Lucina Fraser Lucina Fraser
LIB181
(416) 979-5000 x6887
lefraser@ryerson.ca


Easily discover the world of library content



EIU
Provides country, industry, management analysis and forecasts on over 200 countries, nine strategic industries, and a full range of management functions through the following services: ViewsWire, Country Reports and Country Profile.

Passport GMID
Provides integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, full-text market reports, insightful comment from expert industry and country analysts as well as thousands of sources of further information. Contains demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries. The historic and forecast data enable you analyze trends from 1977-2020. Unique country rankings help you to gauge one country's position in the world relative to another. Passport GMID contains a range of lifestyle indicators such as disposable income availability, consumer expenditure trends, eating and drinking habits, home ownership statistics and health data. Database contains 15,000 market research reports on industries, consumer lifestyles and retailing.

Factiva
Provides business news and information, including the combination of The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B company profiles. Factiva, a Dow Jones & Reuters Company, provides global content with multiple language interfaces and multilingual content covering nearly 8,000 sources.

ProQuest Business Collection
The most comprehensive business offering, comprising all content from ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Asian Business & Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. Featuring thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, and working papers as well as trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist. Strong US and international coverage in business and the social sciences.

Business Source Elite
Business Source Elite provides full text coverage for more than 1,000 scholarly business, management and economics journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 1,800 journals. Business Source Elite contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including Business Week, Forbes, Harvard Business Review, MIT Sloan Management Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, etc. This database includes detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies.

OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998 - currently (October 2010) 1 000 journal issues, 2 900 working papers, 2 500 multi-lingual summaries, 6 200 e-book titles, 14 000 tables and graphs, 21 000 chapters and articles, and 390 complete databases with more than 4 billion data points.";"Our current subscription consists of OECD Economic Surveys, Main Economic Indicators, OECD Books/Papers/Statistics, OECD Economic Outlook, OECD Industry and Services iLibrary, OECD Development iLibrary, OECD Economic Studies. We do not have access to IEA statistics.

International Financial Statistics (IMF)
International Financial Statistics, produced by the IMF, is a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance.The IFS database contains time series data from 1948. IFS statistics include current data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international interest rates, prices, national accounts, and international transactions (including balance of payments and international investment positions). The online IFS database contains: approximately 32,000 time series covering over 200 countries and areas including all series appearing on the IFS Country Pages exchange rate series for all IMF member countries, plus selected other areas selected aggregates of key variables in IFS World Tables. IFS is used throughout the world by governments, academics, and commercial and financial organizations. Online, the information is presented in a user-friendly, easily customized manner, using standard Microsoft Excel spreadsheet formats.

Emerald Library (MCB)
Emerald delivers all the resources of a full management library of over 100 journals. Key journals include: European Journal of Marketing, Management Decision, International Journal of Operations and Production Management. The database contains over 25,000 management articles from its archive back to 1989.

LexisNexis Academic Universe
This service provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. National and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources Canadian federal and provincial case law Canadian legislation U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information Shepards Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789 Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.

Mergent Online
Full text information basic and advanced search on USA Company Database (Active), USA Company Database (Inactive), International Company Database (Active), International Company Database (Inactive), D&B Private Company Database by keyword or SIC/NAICS/MIC. Executive Search in USA Company Database (Active) and International Company Database (Active). Also access D&B 20M Plus Private Company data SEC Government Fillings, annual reports, company financials, historical stock pricing. Economics Module features U.S. economic time series data collected from primary sources and updated daily with content across hundreds of key economic series in daily, weekly, monthly and quarterly frequencies. In Mergent Online, the third tab Mergent Private Company Search provides access to Dun and Bradsheet Million Dollar Directory. This is also available through Advanced Search Also known as D&B Private Company Database, this database provide access to information of 35 million D&B private companies.

Mergent Web Reports
Mergent WebReports is an online database that allows you to access a vast archive of corporate and industry related documents. Includes every Mergent/Moody’s Manual published since 1909. Industry reports are available on a global level. WebReports contains more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries.

Scopus
Scopus offers access to more that 14,000 scholarly titles including approximately 750 conference proceedings, all journals in Medline, 400 trade publications and also approximately 500 Open Access Journals. In development for more than two years with the collaborative efforts of 300 librarians and researchers, Scopus covers the content of over 4,000 international scientific, technical, medical and social science publishers.

Web of Science
Web of Science is the online version of the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Users can search 8,500 international research journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. The Web of Science also provides cited reference searching.

Global Entrepreneurship Monitor (GEM)

Key indicators, visualizations and data sets (open source) GEM is an annual assessment of the entrepreneurial activity, aspirations and attitudes of individuals across a wide range of countries.

Eurostat

Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions. 

Trade Data Online

An Industry Canada website that provides the ability to generate customized reports on Canada's and U.S. trade in goods with over 200 countries.



Datastream
Provides daily pricing and volume information on equities from countries all over the world including market, stock and bond indices, and macroeconomic series from central statistical offices such as Statistics Canada, and sources such as International Financial Statistics and selected OECD series. Also includes daily foreign exchange rates, daily and weekly interest rate series, fixed income instruments from many countries and financial and commodity futures and options contracts.

Balance of Payments Statistics
Database providing information on the balance of payments among countries and geographical areas of the world. Contains approximately 100,000 time series covering more than 170 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the BOP Country Pages.

Direction of Trade Statistics";"IMF e Library
International Financial Statistics is about all aspects of international and domestic finance, with history to 1948. Starting from Jan 2015, IMF online statistics databases, including International Financial Statistics, Balance of Payment Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, and Direction of Trade Statistics, will be made available for free. Please create your own logins to access IMF data.

UN Comtrade
The United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Dabatabse (UN Comtrade) contains detailed imports and exports statistics reported by statistical authorities of close to 200 countries or areas. It concerns annual trade data from 1962 to the most recent year. UN Comtrade is considered the most comprehensive trade database available with more than 1 billion records. The database is continuously updated. Whenever trade data are received from the national authorities, the are standardized by the UN Statistics Division and then added to UN Comtrade.

UNdata
UNdata is a wide-ranging subscription database which covers all countries and areas and selected series from more than 30 specialized international data sources. It draws selectively on statistics from throughout the UN system and brings them together using a common platform and interface, and global statistical standards. UNCDB also covers selective statistics from other international sources including FAO, ILO, IMF, ITU, OECD, UNESCO, WHO, WIPO, World Bank and World Tourism Organization, among others.

World Bank GDF
GDF Online offers external debt and financial flow data for the 136 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System. The timeseries for 217 indicators run from 1970 to 2003. The indicators include external debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, and key debt ratios as well as average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructurings, and scheduled debt service projections. The GDF Online database is released in January each year and updated in April, to include the latest-year estimates prepared for the print editions. The GDF Online subscription also includes topical country data and regional aggregates showing time series in table and chart form.

World Bank WDI
World Development Indicators (WDI) is a data source on the global economy. It contains statistical data for over 600 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2003 (selected data for 2004) for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted. These features include data export options in standard formats like Excel.

The library catalogue is a good source of background information on the international aspects of business and economics. Search the library catalogue by author, title, subject and keyword. 

You also may want to browse the shelves on the 7th floor to see books on International Marketing and Trade - these are mainly found in the ranges between HF1009 - HF 3229.



RefWorks
Please note that Scholars Portal hosting of RefWorks will be discontinued August 15, 2015. Ryerson faculty, students and staff will no longer have access to their RefWorks accounts after this date. Ryerson University Library has created a list of citation management alternatives and is encouraging users to begin the process of exporting references from RefWorks into another software tool. Learn more about how to migrate your references and citations from RefWorks to Mendeley, Zotero or Endnote Web. You also have the option of purchasing an individual subscription to RefWorks.

RefWorks Help

Is your question a frequently asked questions? View FAQ. If you need help with using RefWorks, please contact the reference desk, your subject librarian or email refworks.support@scholarsportal.info.

Doing Business

World Bank database provides measures of business regulations and their enforcement. Select canned comparisons on number of procedures required and number of days to complete various tasks such as starting a business or getting credit. Custom reports available.

Global Corruption Report

Transparency International provides regional assessments of corruption. Goal is to raise awareness of the impact of corruption and advocate policy reforms.

Human Development Reports

Focused analysis from the United Nations Development Programme. Includes rankings of countries on measures such as the life expectancy, access to health care and technology, income distribution, and literacy.

CIA World Factbook

Produced by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency, provides brief surveys of the economic, geographic, and political conditions of most countries, dependent areas, and other entities.

Eurostat

Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions. 

Global Cities Index

The Global Cities Index provides a comprehensive ranking of the leading global cities from around the world.

© 2020 Ryerson University Library & Archives Research Guides