;

All Research Guides

Market Research Guide

Subject Librarian

Lucina Fraser Lucina Fraser
LIB181
(416) 979-5000 x6887
lefraser@ryerson.ca





Passport GMID
Provides integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, full-text market reports, insightful comment from expert industry and country analysts as well as thousands of sources of further information. Contains demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries. The historic and forecast data enable you analyze trends from 1977-2020. Unique country rankings help you to gauge one country's position in the world relative to another. Passport GMID contains a range of lifestyle indicators such as disposable income availability, consumer expenditure trends, eating and drinking habits, home ownership statistics and health data. Database contains 15,000 market research reports on industries, consumer lifestyles and retailing.

Business Source Elite
Business Source Elite provides full text coverage for more than 1,000 scholarly business, management and economics journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 1,800 journals. Business Source Elite contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including Business Week, Forbes, Harvard Business Review, MIT Sloan Management Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, etc. This database includes detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies.

Business Insights: Global
Provides accurate, up-to-date company and industry intelligence for thousands of firms, including competitive intelligence, career and investment opportunities, business rankings, company histories. It includes periodical articles, news articles, and press releases investment reports corporate chronologies brands and product information industry and company rankings financial overviews industry overviews and HR law case digests. Searches can be done on company name or ticker symbol, industry code/description (SIC or NAICS), subjects in article, geographic search, or personal name. Searches can be limited by journal name, date range, or content area. Ryerson has upgraded from Business Insights: Essentials to Business Insights: Global since 2014.

Factiva
Provides business news and information, including the combination of The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B company profiles. Factiva, a Dow Jones & Reuters Company, provides global content with multiple language interfaces and multilingual content covering nearly 8,000 sources.

ProQuest Business Collection
The most comprehensive business offering, comprising all content from ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Asian Business & Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. Featuring thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, and working papers as well as trade publications, industry reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist. Strong US and international coverage in business and the social sciences.

LexisNexis Academic Universe
This service provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. National and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources Canadian federal and provincial case law Canadian legislation U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information Shepards Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789 Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.

Conference Board of Canada (e-Library) Resource has Canadian focus
The Conference Board of Canada e-Library provides access to All Conference Board research documents from 1998 and Public Policy research documents. Aproximately 30 reports are produced annually to provide new insights into key areas of economic, management and public policy as well as periodicals on a monthly, quarterly, yearly and biennial basis.

CBCA Complete Resource has Canadian focus
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) is Canada's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full text reference and current events database. CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets: Reference, Current Events, Business and Education.

Emerald Library (MCB)
Emerald delivers all the resources of a full management library of over 100 journals. Key journals include: European Journal of Marketing, Management Decision, International Journal of Operations and Production Management. The database contains over 25,000 management articles from its archive back to 1989.

FP Infomart Resource has Canadian focus
FP Infomart provides access to detailed information about Canadian public and private companies, company directors, archival financial information, special analytical tools, and a lead list generator. Includes: Company Snapshots, Companies by Industry, Corporate Surveys, Predecessor & Defunct, Corporate Analyzer, Investor Reports, Historical Reports, Industry Reports, Dividends, New Issues, Mergers & Acquisitions, Directory of Directors, Additional Databases, Person Search, Global Search, Lead List Generator.

Mergent Online
Full text information basic and advanced search on USA Company Database (Active), USA Company Database (Inactive), International Company Database (Active), International Company Database (Inactive), D&B Private Company Database by keyword or SIC/NAICS/MIC. Executive Search in USA Company Database (Active) and International Company Database (Active). Also access D&B 20M Plus Private Company data SEC Government Fillings, annual reports, company financials, historical stock pricing. Economics Module features U.S. economic time series data collected from primary sources and updated daily with content across hundreds of key economic series in daily, weekly, monthly and quarterly frequencies. In Mergent Online, the third tab Mergent Private Company Search provides access to Dun and Bradsheet Million Dollar Directory. This is also available through Advanced Search Also known as D&B Private Company Database, this database provide access to information of 35 million D&B private companies.

Scopus
Scopus offers access to more that 14,000 scholarly titles including approximately 750 conference proceedings, all journals in Medline, 400 trade publications and also approximately 500 Open Access Journals. In development for more than two years with the collaborative efforts of 300 librarians and researchers, Scopus covers the content of over 4,000 international scientific, technical, medical and social science publishers.

Mergent Historical Annual Reports
Adding to a collection of more than 300,000 global reports covering international and domestic companies for the last 20 years, Mergent Archives will deliver an additional 150,000 to 200,000 documents spanning nearly a century. It includes a simple, on-line screening tool allowing researchers to search across reports by company name, year, city and state, and document type.It also offers fully searchable text in every document. The database is continuously updated.

Mergent Web Reports
Mergent WebReports is an online database that allows you to access a vast archive of corporate and industry related documents. Includes every Mergent/Moody’s Manual published since 1909. Industry reports are available on a global level. WebReports contains more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries.

Statistics Canada Collection

Ryerson's print and microfiche collection of Statistics Canada publications is housed on the 2nd floor. Statistics Canada's Catalogue of publications and services is available in print, Cat. No. 11-204, and electronically through our library homepage, by clicking on "Government Information." The library subscribes to several Statistics Canada CD-ROMs and has access to the agency's statistics in other electronic formats, and from a variety of sources. For additional options click on government information in the library's homepage. Have a look at CANSIM and other choices under "Statistics Canada." For a fee Statistics Canada will do customer defined extractions of data from their statistical databases. Contact the local Statistics Canada office for details.

Other Sources of Statistics

Global Entrepreneurship Monitor - An annual assessment of the entrepreneurial activity, aspirations and attitudes of individuals across a wide range of countries



Cansim Resource has Canadian focus
CANSIM (Canadian Socio-Economic Information Management System) is Statistics Canada's computerized database of time series covering a wide variety of social and economic aspects of Canadian life.

ReferenceCanada Resource has Canadian focus
A database of Canadian companies and consumers

Odesi: a Voyage in Data Discovery Resource has Canadian focus
is a service that allows users to search, browse, create summary statistics, graph and download microdata from a range of Statistics Canada surveys, Gallup Polls and other surveys. provides access to collections of polling and social survey data including: Canadian Opinion Research Archive (CORA), Canadian Gallup, and Ipsos Reid. Statistics Canada's public-use survey data forms the core of 's social survey data holdings.

Media Technology Monitor Resource has Canadian focus
Based on 12,000 telephone interviews annually, the MTM provides research data in the area of technology ownership and use. MTM has spoken to 100,000 Canadians (equally split between Anglophones and Francophones) over the past decade making it the most accurate and comprehensive media technology tracking survey of its kind. Highlighted themes include television platforms,internet activities,radio platforms, mobile phone activities, tablets, media usage by device, online engagement with TV, content and new platform users.



RefWorks
Please note that Scholars Portal hosting of RefWorks will be discontinued August 15, 2015. Ryerson faculty, students and staff will no longer have access to their RefWorks accounts after this date. Ryerson University Library has created a list of citation management alternatives and is encouraging users to begin the process of exporting references from RefWorks into another software tool. Learn more about how to migrate your references and citations from RefWorks to Mendeley, Zotero or Endnote Web. You also have the option of purchasing an individual subscription to RefWorks.

RefWorks Help

Is your question a frequently asked questions? View FAQ. If you need help with using RefWorks, please contact the reference desk, your subject librarian or email refworks.support@scholarsportal.info.

Citing business sources using APA - a guide specially designed with examples from business sources

Identifying scholarly/peer reviewed articles (video)

Ryerson Library Book Collection

Most marketing research books are located in the HF5415-5487 call-number range on the 7th floor. The Library catalogue includes the titles of books, periodicals, audiovisual materials and company annual reports held by the Library. Search the library catalogue by author, title, subject and keyword. If you do not have a specific author or title of a book and you do not know the Library of Congress subject heading, search the library catalogue by the "keyword" option.

Introductory information on market research

Company Information

Annual Reports

Consumer Information and Demographics

Industry Sources

Audiovisual Materials in the Ryerson Library

AV materials are located on the second floor and are listed in the library catalogue. If you do not have a specific author or title of a video or film use the keyword option. Include the keyword "videorecording," or alternately, "motion picture" as required. Otherwise, use the keyword option and then select the "limit" button to limit by format of material.                      

© 2020 Ryerson University Library & Archives Research Guides