;

All Research Guides

Urban and Regional Planning Guide

Subject Librarian

Dan Jakubek Dan Jakubek
LIB179
(416) 979-5000 x4936
djakubek@ryerson.ca




Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier provides full text for over 2,000 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for approximately 3,500 journals. Most journals are peer reviewed.

ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology. Over 2,600 journal titles are covered. Nearly two-thirds of the titles covered in Research Library offer complete articles in the ASCII full-text, full-image, or Text+Graphics formats. An extensive backfile dates from 1986 onwards for many publications.

CBCA Complete Resource has Canadian focus
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) is Canada's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full text reference and current events database. CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets: Reference, Current Events, Business and Education.

Sage Journals Online
SAGE Premier provides access to 570+ SAGE journal titles in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine with backfile to 1999.

Scholars Portal Journals
E-Journals @ Scholars Portal provides access to the full text of over 22 million articles from over 8,000+ full text journals published by: Academic Press, American Chemical Society, American Psychological Association, Berkeley Electronic Press, Blackwell Publishing, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier Science and Emerald Publishing.

ScienceDirect journals
The Elsevier ScienceDirect Journals collection consists of over 1700 full text electronic journals covering topics in the physical sciences, applied sciences, life sciences, social sciences, and business and economics. The ScienceDirect platform also hosts and makes accessible other large ejournal collections, reference works, indexes and web search engines. These include: full text ejournals from Academic Press, Elsevier Science, Harcourt Health full text access to International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences, Medline and the science specific web search engine Scirus. Full text access is available for most titles from 1995 to present.

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
Comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 1,500 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

Evaluating Sources

Look at the following:

Evaluating Internet Resources

Peer Reviewed/Scholarly Journals

 

Citing Sources

See also the Citation and Style Guide.

The standard formats most commonly used in the social sciences are

MLA - Modern Languages Association format

ALA - American Psychological Association format

Chicago Manual of style

Purdue University's On-Line Writing Lab (OWL) is an excellent resource for these 3 formats

Or in the Ryerson Library book collection:

MLA publishes two style manuals, one aimed at high school students and undergraduates:

MLA Handbook for writers of research papers (In Reference section of Library) and

MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing 3rd ed. (PN147 .G444 2008)

APA publishes two guides:

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 6th ed. (BF76.7 .P82 2009)

APA Style guide to electronic references (In Reference section and Writing Centre)

See also Special formats in the Citation and Style Guide 

 In the Ryerson Library:

Use the Library Catalogue to find:

  • Books (including government publications)
  • Audio-Visual material, including videotapes in this library and
  • Periodicals (by title).

If you do not have a specific author or title of a book, use the keywords from the first step to search in the catalogue by Keywords or Subject Heading. You will get different results with each so it is often useful to do both. Boolean operators can be used in Keywords.


When you find a relevant book make a note of the "call number" and go to the appropriate floor.
Books are shelved in "call number" order. Find the letter combination and then the number e.g. GA741. This is usually followed by at least one other letter and number combination e.g. GA741.H5. The numbers after the second (and third) set of letters are decimals so that .H5 files before .H53 and .H6 files after .H53.

The books on planning related subjects are located in a variety of call number ranges including HT160 to HT169 and NA9000s.

In other libraries: Search the catalogue of other libraries



RefWorks
Please note that Scholars Portal hosting of RefWorks will be discontinued August 15, 2015. Ryerson faculty, students and staff will no longer have access to their RefWorks accounts after this date. Ryerson University Library has created a list of citation management alternatives and is encouraging users to begin the process of exporting references from RefWorks into another software tool. Learn more about how to migrate your references and citations from RefWorks to Mendeley, Zotero or Endnote Web. You also have the option of purchasing an individual subscription to RefWorks.

RefWorks Help

Is your question a frequently asked questions? View FAQ. If you need help with using RefWorks, please contact the reference desk, your subject librarian or email refworks.support@scholarsportal.info.

Associations etc.

Bibliographies

Research Papers online

Map Resources

Ryerson

Canada

United States

World

Other

Toronto Departments

Other Cities, Towns, Municipalities in the Greater Toronto Region

Research Centres/Schools

 

Official Plans

Official Plans in Ontario are governed by the Province of Ontario Planning Act

City plans for a number of Canadian cities and regions are available either on the web or as a print copy in the library.

Abbotsford, BC: Official Community Plan

Ajax, ON: Official Plan

Barrie, ON: Official Plan

Burlington, ON: Official Plan and also in the Library HT169.C32 B8522 2004

Caledon, ON: Town Official Plan and also in the Library HT395.C33 C35 2002

Calgary, AB: City-Wide Planning & Economics Information Package and Community and Area plans

Regional Municipality of Durham, ON: Regional Official Plan Consolidation 2008

Edmonton, AB: Plan Edmonton (Edmonton's Municipal Development Plan Bylaw No. 11777, approved August 31, 1998, with amendments to February 11, 2008) and "Plans in Effect"

Fredericton, NB: Municipal Plan

Guelph, ON: Official Plan 2001 - November 2006 consolidation

Halifax, NS: Regional Plan

Regional Municipality of Halton, ON: Official Plan

Hamilton, ON: New Official Plan (Rural and Urban)

Kamloops, BC: Kamplan 2004

Kentville, NS: Municipal Planning Strategy

Kingston, ON: Official Plan Introduction

Lloydminster, AB: Plan Lloydminster 2000

London, ON: London's Official Plan and Official Plan Review 2006

Mississauga, ON: Mississauga Plan and also in the Library HT169.C32 M572 2006

Montreal, PQ: Master Plan

Nanaimo, BC: Official Community Plan

Niagara Region, ON: Regional Policy Plan

Oakville, ON: Official Plan

Oshawa, ON: Community Strategic Plan

Ottawa: ON: Ottawa's Growth Management Strategy also the Official Plan

Regional Municipality of Peel, ON: Official Plan

Peterborough, ON: Official Plan

Prince Albert, SK: 2007 Strategic Plan

Red Deer, AB: Municipal development plan

Regina, SK: Development plan

Richmond, BC: Official Community Plan

Richmond Hill, ON: 2001 Strategic Plan, Official Plan (2008/9)

Sarnia, ON: Official Plan

Saskatoon, SK: Development Plan

Sault Ste. Marie, ON: Official Plan

St. Catharines, ON: Official Plan

St. John's, NF: Municipal Plan

Sudbury (Greater), ON: Official Plan

Surrey, BC: Official Community Plan By-Law 12900

Thunder Bay, ON: Official Plan

Toronto, ON: Official Plan and also in the Library Ref. NA9130.T6 T566 2007

Truro, NS: Municipal Planning Strategy (MPS)

Vancouver, BC: CityPlan and Community Visions

Victoria, BC: Official Community Plan

Waterloo Region, ON: Regional Official Policies Plan

Windsor, ON: Official Plan

Winnipeg, MB: Plan Winnipeg 2020 Vision

York Region, ON: Official Plan 

© 2021 Ryerson University Library & Archives Research Guides