All Research Guides
Periodicals, Indexes and Databases
The Ryerson Library subscribes to several databases that can be used to retrieve periodical articles on topics related to the Holocaust. Access to these databases is limited to Ryerson staff, students and faculty.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier provides full text for over 2,000 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for approximately 3,500 journals. Most journals are peer reviewed.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) is Canada's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full text reference and current events database. CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets: Reference, Current Events, Business and Education.
Emerald Library (MCB)
Emerald delivers all the resources of a full management library of over 100 journals. Key journals include: European Journal of Marketing, Management Decision, International Journal of Operations and Production Management. The database contains over 25,000 management articles from its archive back to 1989.
Globe and Mail, Canada's Heritage from 1844
ProQuest Historical Newspaper The Globe and Mail (1844-2011) offers a wealth of historical resources through over 150 years of day-to-day history. The online database consists of the digitized full-image archive of The Globe and Mail newspaper dating back to when it was founded by George Brown in 1844 as The Globe. The content includes every news story, photograph, map, advertisement, classified advertisement, political cartoon, birth, marriage and death notices and letters to the editor from The Globe and Mail. Coverage of issues from early life in Canada West (formerly Upper Canada), Confederation, through the World Wars, major conflicts, first flight of man, and the sinking of great ships are all detailed and covered.
Kluwer Online (Scholars Portal)
Access to over 650 journals published by Kluwer Online.
Project MUSE Premium Collection offers 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
ProQuest Newsstand (Canada)
This database detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the papers. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology. Over 2,600 journal titles are covered. Nearly two-thirds of the titles covered in Research Library offer complete articles in the ASCII full-text, full-image, or Text+Graphics formats. An extensive backfile dates from 1986 onwards for many publications.
America : History & Life
America : History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is an important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
ProQuest Criminal Justice
This comprehensive database focuses on U.S. and international criminal justice journals, providing research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law and industrial security. Users have access to both ProQuest Criminal Justice and ProQuest Deep Indexing: Criminal Justice simultaneously. Subjects covered include criminology, corrections and law enforcement , criminal law , criminal justice, criminal Rehabilitation , addictions, alcohol, gambling, child abuse and industrial crime. As of Sept. '11, this database has 180+ full-text publications and 350+ abstracts and indexes.
CPI.Q provides comprehensive coverage of over 400 Canadian and international periodicals. All subject areas are represented, with an emphasis on mainstream and academic titles available in Canadian libraries.
The MLA Bibliography, produced by the Modern Languages Association of America, is the fundamental research tool for the humanities. The database is an index of international scholarly materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. The citations are from over 4,000 journals and series, monographs, working papers and conference proceedings.
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records published by Sociological Abstracts in print during the database's first 11 years, 1952-1962, have been added to the database as of November 2005, extending the depth of the backfile of this authoritative resource.
Dissertations & Theses
PQDT Global offers access to the full range of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text content plus additional international content (over 1.5 million PHD dissertations in overall). It also includes PQDT - UK & Ireland, which grants access to over 500,000 abstracts from UK & Irish PhD theses (the content from our PQDT - UK & Ireland database).
Books and eBooks
The Ryerson Library can assist you in locating materials relating to the Holocaust. Contact the Library's ASK A Librarian service for further information or for assistance with your research.
The following bibliographies cite titles from the collections of a number of libraries. Ryerson's Interlibrary Loans Service can assist you in obtaining any materials that aren't available in the Ryerson Library.
- Annotated Bibliography I : General and Specialized History (Cybrary of the Holocaust)
- Annotated Holocaust Bibliography II (Cybrary of the Holocaust)
- Bibliography on the Holocaust in France
- Children's Books About the Holocaust - A Selective Annotated Bibliography
- Gays & Lesbians - U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum Library
- The Holocaust Studies Resources - University of Minnesota Duluth
- A Holocaust Journey: Classroom Encounters - Annotated Bibliography
- Holocaust Literature (University of Massachusetts)
- Jehovah's Witnesses - U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum Library
- Holocaust Literature of the Holocaust (University of Pennsylvania)
- Sinti & Roma - U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum Library
- Women and the Holocaust: A Cyberspace of Their Own Judy Cohen
- Annotated Videography (U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum)
- Collection of Holocaust Film and Video (Joan Sourasky-Constantiner Holocaust Multimedia Research Center of the Israel Film Archive - Jerusalem Cinematheque)
- Films on the Holocaust (The Simon Wiesenthal Center)
- Holocaust Documentary - JewishFilm.com - The Jewish Film Archive online
- Holocaust Drama - JewishFilm.com - The Jewish Film Archive online
- Holocaust Filmography Project of the Steven Speilberg Jewish Film Archive
- A Teachers's Guide to the Holocaust : Videography
Ryerson Library Audio Visual Collection
Please note that Scholars Portal hosting of RefWorks will be discontinued August 15, 2015. Ryerson faculty, students and staff will no longer have access to their RefWorks accounts after this date. Ryerson University Library has created a list of citation management alternatives and is encouraging users to begin the process of exporting references from RefWorks into another software tool. Learn more about how to migrate your references and citations from RefWorks to Mendeley, Zotero or Endnote Web. You also have the option of purchasing an individual subscription to RefWorks.
RefWorks HelpIs your question a frequently asked questions? View FAQ. If you need help with using RefWorks, please contact the reference desk, your subject librarian or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
- American Friends of Ghetto Fighters' House
- Anne Frank Center (USA)
- Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies (University of Minnesota)
- Drew University Center for Holocaust/Genocide Study
- Herbert and Leonard Littman Families Holocaust Resource Center (Rutgers)
- Holocaust Documentation and Education Center, Inc. (Florida International University Biscayne Bay Campus)
- Holocaust Human Rights Center of Maine
- The Montreal Institute for Genocide and Human Rights Studies (MIGS)
- MORESHET Mordechai Anilevich Memorial Study Center for Teaching the Holocaust
- Simon Wiesenthal Center
- Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation
- The Webster University Center for the Study of the Holocaust, Genocide and Human Rights
Libraries and Archives
- Ryerson University Library
- Books on the Holocaust in the Ryerson Library
- Ryerson's ASK A Librarian Service
- Cybrary of the Holocaust
- Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies (Yale University)
- Holocaust Archive Project (Brandeis University)
- The Holocaust Resource Center (Buffalo)
- Jacob Rader Marcus Center of the American Jewish Archives
- Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation
- United States Holocaust Memorial Museum - Library
- Anne Frank House (Netherlands)
- Auschwitz-Birkenau Memorial and Museum
- C.A.N.D.L.E.S. Holocaust Museum (Iowa)
- El Paso Holocaust Museum and Study Center
- Florida Holocaust Museum
- Ghetto Fighters' House - Holocaust and Jewish Resistance Heritage Museum
- Holocaust Museum and Learning Center (St. Louis Mo.)
- Holocaust Museum of Houston
- Los Angeles Museum of the Holocaust
- Mechelen Museum of Deportation and the Resistance
- The Museum of Jewish Heritage - A Living Memorial to the Holocaust (New York City)
- Museum of Tolerance - Simon Wiesenthal Center
- United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
- Yad Vashem
- Art in Response to the Holocaust (Teachers Guide to the Holocaust)
- Cybrary of the Holocaust - Images
- Gallery of Holocaust Images 1 (Teachers Guide to the Holocaust)
- Gallery of Holocaust Images 2 (Teachers Guide to the Holocaust)
- Holocaust Pictures Exhibition
- Holocaust Survivors Photo Gallery
- Maps (Teachers Guide to the Holocaust)
- Museum of Tolerance Online Media Center - Index to Topics
- Museum of Tolerance Online Media Center - Virtual Exhibits
- Survivors of the Holocaust Today
- Virtual Museum of Holocaust Art
- Virtual Reality Movies (Teachers Guide to the Holocaust)
- Witness Legacy - Contemporary Art About the Holocaust
Selected Holocaust Resources
Documents of the Holocaust
- Exploring the Holocaust on the World Wide Web (PBS)
German History in Documents and Images
- H-Holocaust Links
- Hiatt Holocaust Collection - Links to Other Holocaust Web Sites
- Holocaust - WWW-Virtual Library History Network
- Holocaust & Genocide Links (Webster University)
- Holocaust Links
- Internet Links - Introductory Guide to Holocaust Information Available on the Internet (Northeastern University)
- Meyer's Holocaust Links
- The Nizkor Project - Holocaust & Genocide Links
- A Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust - Web Sites
- United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Library - Collection of Online Resources